BlogPressDOWNLOADSPRIVACY

Technology trend radar

1. Radar Tutorial

Radar sensors are a key technology that is rapidly evolving. In many areas, we are benefiting from innovative sensor solutions. But what is radar and how does the technology work?
On this page, we would like to give you some insight into the world of radar sensors, explain this complex technology in greater detail, and provide some of our expertise.

1.1 What is radar?
RADAR stands for ‘Radio Detection And Ranging’ and is an active transmission and reception method in the microwave GHz range. Radar sensors are used for contactless detection, tracking, and positioning of one or more objects by means of electromagnetic waves.

1.2 How does radar detection work?
The radar antenna emits a signal in the form of radar waves, which move at the speed of light and are not perceivable by humans. When the waves hit objects, the signal changes and is reflected back to the sensor – similarly to an echo. The signal arriving at the antenna contains information about the detected object. The received signal is then processed in order to identify and position the object using the data collected. In a second step, it is possible to emit a pulse to trigger a reaction.

1.3 What are the radar technology’s characteristics?

Contactless: The radar detection measuring principle involves no contact at all. The sensor doesn’t have to have direct contact with a material or object being detected. Radar reliably measures and detects even at a long distance.

Anonymous: Radar sensors are used for industrial and automotive applications and don’t produce images. They merely form a sort of cloud of dots, which gives a rough indication of objects’ contours and the infrastructure of the surroundings. Contrary to with a camera, people are not identifiable.

Comprehensive data: Radar sensors detect movements and stationary objects. After signal processing, the data received through the reflection provides a variety of information about the detected objects, vehicles, animals, or persons. Data such as direction of movement, speed, distance, and angular position in relation to the sensor are available.

Multi-dimensional detection: Depending on its modulation, radar collects extensive data about its environment. This enables sensors to also record the environment in three dimensions, like a human eye.

Wide range variability: Radar waves spread freely in space or in the air. Depending on the sensor’s technical development and purpose, extreme ranges can be achieved if necessary. For commercial applications, the coverage range usually varies from one centimetre to a few hundred meters.

Material penetration: The electromagnetic waves of radar sensors penetrate various materials. Plastics, in particular, are very well-suited for covering or designing a radome – a dome-shaped protective casing for the antenna. It allows the sensors to be integrated discreetly into a product design.

1.4 What are the advantages of radar technology?

Based on radar’s properties, the technology offers certain advantages for its respective application.

Because radar

  • is independent from weather conditions
  • tolerates extreme heat and cold
  • works even despite overexposure and bad lighting conditions
  • works in the dark
  • is maintenance-free
  • offers a great range of functions,
    for example measurement of distance & speed, tracking, positioning of objects, determination of ETA, object classification, people count
  • is suitable for indoor & outdoor use
  • can be used for many applications

InnoSenT’s radar products also boast a compact design and easy integration.

1.5 What makes radar different from other sensor technologies?
The different measuring methods have different strengths and weaknesses. Depending on the application, users must consider which sensor technology offers the greatest added value and manages the respective tasks and challenges. The following table provides a rough overview:
PERFORMANCE LEVEL
FEATURESRADARINFRAREDULTRASONICLASER
Application flexibilityBESTBADBADBAD
Resistance to moisture, dirt and temperatureBESTBADBADBAD
Speed detectionBESTBADGOODBEST
Accuracy sensitivityBESTBADBESTBEST
Resolution (separability)BESTBADBESTBEST
Direction capabilityBESTGOODGOODBAD
Distance measurementBESTGOODBADBEST
Penetration of materialsBESTBADBADBAD
Size of solutionsBESTBESTBESTBAD
CostGOODBESTBESTBAD

2. Parameters of radar technology

Not all radar is the same. The sensors often differ in terms of functions and properties. This is because, depending on the application, different configurations are required to conduct the desired measurement. The differences between different radar types are defined via two basic parameters: the frequency band used and the modulation.

2.1 Frequency band

The radar measurement method transmits and receives electromagnetic waves within a specific frequency range. Due to varying physical properties, the range of radar sensors is divided up between different gradations. And certain frequency ranges are labelled with letters designating the frequency band. This name is defined by institutions such as the IEEE and NATO and is internationally recognised.
Technical communication by means of radar waves is generally regulated by national authorities and international associations. They define power limits and the approval of the frequency bands.
The typical spectrum for commercial radar applications is between 10 and 120 GHz. Depending on the application, developers use different operating ranges due to their respective technical characteristics. The choice of the transmission and reception frequency also affects radar’s achievable performance and characteristics.
For example, 10 GHz radars even penetrate walls, while sensors in the 60 GHz or 77 GHz range support a higher resolution due to the higher permitted bandwidth. An advantage of 24 GHz sensors is their ability to be approved worldwide.

2.2 Modulation

Often, the radar type is also defined through indication of the radar method used. The radar signal is influenced through selective modulation of the transmission frequency. The common radar types are CW, FSK, and FMCW.
  • CW stands for ‘continuous wave’. In this method, the sensor transmits and receives the signal simultaneously and continuously (fixed transmission frequency). This type is also known as an unmodulated continuous-wave radar.
  • FSK means ‘frequency-shift keying’. This is a special type of FMCW radar that jumps alternately between two frequencies.
  • FMCW is the abbreviation for ‘frequency-modulated continuous wave’. Frequency-modulated continuous wave radars don’t use a fixed transmission frequency, but rather a time-dependent, varying modulation of the frequency (steady, cyclic, and curved), also called a chirp.
When do I need which radar type? This depends on the object to be detected and the required object information.

The following table gives you a rough overview to make an initial preliminary selection:

 

 

3. Possibilities of radar technology

3.1 Measurable radar information and analysis

Radar detection can be used to detect the presence or movement of objects or living beings. Depending on the modulation and antenna configuration, it may be possible to attain the following information:
  • SPEED
    Exact data about the speed of an object
  • DISTANCE
    Data about the distance of one or more objects
  • DIRECTION OF MOVEMENT
    An object’s direction of movement
  • ANGLE
    Determination of the angle of incidence and resolution via the angular resolution
Through analogue and digital signal analysis, further information can also be derived from these base values. For example, intelligent algorithms can be used to create radar clusters, which then map the motion history. And it is also possible to classify these objects. Based on the signal analysis, the radar uses the raw data, such as the radar cross-section (RCS), to detect whether a given object is a person or a vehicle. If there are reference values available, this enables limit values, filling quantities, or arrival times to also be determined.

3.2 Measurement accuracy

There are frequently misunderstandings here in connection with the radar solution. While the resolution describes a radar’s ability to distinguish objects, its accuracy refers to the smallest measurable difference in the measured variable. It describes how precisely parameters such as speed, distance, or angular position are measured. This is done while taking into account a plus/minus tolerance, indicated as the deviation rate.
Measurement accuracy depends on the timeframe in which the measurement is taken. The longer the object detection, the more readings the radar receives. The more data is available to be analysed, the more meaningful and reliable the detection is.
In practice, developers usually have to compromise between detection time and accuracy. Because if information is meant to be available as quickly as possible, the measuring time must be shortened.

3.3 Antenna design

Through the antenna design, the radar developers define the sensor’s coverage range. By varying the arrangement of the antenna, this orients the emission of the radar waves. The antenna diagram shows in what direction the antenna emits the most energy. Employing directional antennas, the developers design the form and range such that as much antenna gain as possible can be achieved. This enables the energy to be focused on the desired angle of vision and reduces energy waste and side lobes.
The detection area can be focused narrowly and elongated, yet still be wide too. The design depends on the subsequent application. A new method lies in advanced MIMO technology, which combines the use of several transmitting and receiving antennas.

3.4 Radar waves and materials

Radar waves spread freely in space in the air. When they hit an object, the signal is influenced by the object’s composition. And different materials have different impacts on the radar waves. They are either completely or partially absorbed or reflected. The radar beams also penetrate different substances.
The following statements can generally be made regarding 24 GHz radars:

 

MATERIALABSORPTIONREFLECTIONWAVE
MetalNoneStraight-on incidence: complete;
Diagonal angle of incidence: Refraction and partial reflection possible
Virtually impossible, only millimetre fractions penetrate into the surface (skin effect)
Wood
(depending on humidity)
Medium to highLowLow
WaterVery highDepending on the angle of incidence: Partial or complete reflection possibleNone, due to absorption
Foams
(e.g. polystyrene, Roofmate)
LowNoneVery good
PlasticsLow to high (depending on material and thickness)Low to high (depending on material, thickness, and distance)Low to high (depending on material, thickness, and distance)

3.5 Range

The ranges of radar products can vary widely. In the industrial, commercial, and automotive sectors, they may take measurements at a distance of a few centimetres to several hundred or thousand metres. How far a radar can measure depends on various factors.
In general, the further away an object is, the more difficult it is to detect. Objects with low RCS (radar cross section) are also more difficult to detect at a distance. After all, the signal has to travel a long communication path back and forth. This causes signal losses, for example due to environmental influences or interfering factors. The higher the transmission and reception power, the better the signal is after travelling a long reflection path.
The radar range is always limited by the selected frequency band, which determines the available wavelength and its frequency, and the transmission power is also restricted by regulations. At the same time, the reception power is defined by the antenna gain and the antenna design. Through the design of the antenna’s directivity (e.g. strong focusing) and the integration of several antennas, developers achieve a high sensitivity. However, this leads to greater noise, which must be suppressed through further technical work.
In radar development, an optimum ratio between range, coverage area, and resolution must be achieved for the respective application and technical work must be performed to minimise undesirable side effects.

 

3.6 Object classification

One advanced feature of radar products is object classification, which requires extensive information about an object to be available. This can be achieved through a high resolution, since more measuring points of an object can then be detected. The classification is then performed using intelligent algorithms for signal processing. For example, in traffic-related applications, it is possible to identify the object as a specific vehicle class based on the length of the vehicle (how far the object extends in space).
However, measurements such as the RCS, speed, or information about motion patterns also help in assigning objects to a specific type. For example, a person has a different RCS value than a vehicle. Using the available data and appropriate programming, statements can be made about the object’s classification, for instance in terms of the categories of ‘person, vehicle, animal, or other’.
3.7 Resolution
The radar resolution is the ability of radar sensors and systems to distinguish targets from each other (differentiability). The following overview shows the different radar solutions.

1D-RADAR (CW)

Object seperation via

  • Velocity

No seperation of objects with same speed. (Object location is not possible).

 

2D-RADAR (FSK)

Object seperation via

  • Velocity & Distance

 

No separation of objects with same speed and distance. (Locating of objects in one-dimensional environment, no angle information).

.

3D-RADAR (FMCW MIMO)

Object seperation via

  • Velocity, Distance & Angle

Objects with same speed, distance and angle position can be separated. (Locating of objects in a two-dimensional environment possible).

4D-RADAR (FMCW MIMO)

Object seperation via

  • Velocity, Distance & Angle (horizontal, vertikal)

Objects with same speed, distance and angle position can be separated. (Locating of objects in a three-dimensional environment possible).

CW (continuous wave)
radars are widely used in many applications of motion detection. FSK (frequency-shift keying) radars also only separate objects according to their speed, but also offers the advantage of distance measurement.

FMCW (frequency-modulated continuous wave)
radars are used when measuring the speed alone is not sufficient. If the radar device only has 1 transmission and receiver channel, the distance to the object can be measured, but the angular offset cannot be measured.

3D-RADAR (FMCW MIMO)
radars have several transmitting and receiving antennas. Every transmitted signal can be received by any antenna. The special arrangement of multiple antennas improves the spatial resolution and reduces susceptibility to interference.

4D-RADAR (FMCW MIMO)
Compared to 3D radar, a 4D radar also has several offset antennas in the elevation and can thus separate detections in the elevation angle. This enables localization in a 3D environment.

4. Structure of a radar

In addition to its front end (microwave component with antenna structure), a complete radar sensor consists of units for signal conditioning and signal processing. These elementary components may also be supplemented with a radome, housing, lens, and a component carrier.
Through the antenna design, the front end plays a key role, as it comprises the sensor in itself and sets the parameters for subsequent functions. Signal conditioning and processing analyse and interpret the signals provided by the front end. This is necessary in order to give the individual, raw radar detections a comprehensible meaning for users through the assignment of units of measure and references. 
The radar front-end transmits and receives the electromagnetic microwaves. These resulting signals are then forwarded to the signal processing component. To protect the antenna and electronic components, the radar is generally equipped with a housing. Technicians call an antenna cover a radome. Besides protecting the front end, this also is used to secure the antenna. Some radar products also have a special lens used to focus the radar beam. Another component of a radar is the interface necessary for radar information to be output and forwarded to other technical products.
The radar front-end transmits and receives the electromagnetic microwaves. These resulting signals are then forwarded to the signal processing component. To protect the antenna and electronic components, the radar is generally equipped with a housing. Technicians call an antenna cover a radome. Besides protecting the front end, this also is used to secure the antenna. Some radar products also have a special lens used to focus the radar beam. Another component of a radar is the interface necessary for radar information to be output and forwarded to other technical products.

Product selection

InnoSenT offers a wide range of radar products – from simple radar detectors to high-end radar. The product solutions differ in terms of their technical design, functions, and equipment.
While a front end consists of the radar component itself, i.e. the antenna, sensors and systems already boast additional technical further developments for signal conditioning and processing, which facilitate use of the technology.
Which product level is suitable for your application depends heavily on your individual technical know-how, your own development capacities, the subsequent use, and the measuring task’s complexity. Our product finder enables you to make a preliminary selection based on various parameters. We would be happy to advise you in detail about the various options.

Contact us

I have read the Privacy Policy. I agree that my details and data will be electronically collected and saved to answer my request. Note: You can revoke your consent at any time for the future by emailing datenschutz@innosent.de.

BlogPresseDOWNLOADSKARRIERE

Techniktrend Radar

1. Radar Tutorial

Radarsensorik ist eine Schlüsseltechnologie und entwickelt sich rasant weiter. In vielen Bereichen profitieren wir von innovativen Sensorlösungen. Doch was ist Radar eigentlich und wie funktioniert die Technik?
Auf dieser Seite möchten wir Ihnen ein Einblick in die Welt der Radarsensorik bieten, ihnen die komplexe Technik näher bringen und ein Teil unserer Expertise zu Verfügung stellen.

1.1 Was ist Radar?
RADAR steht für „Radio Detection and Ranging“ und ist ein aktives Sende-& Empfangsverfahren im Mikrowellen-GHz-Bereich. Die Radarsensorik dient der berührungslosen Detektion, dem Tracking und der Lokalisierung eines oder mehrerer Objekte mittels elektromagnetischer Wellen.
 
1.2 Wie funktioniert Radardetektion?
Die Radarantenne sendet ein Signal in Form von Radarwellen aus, welche sich in Lichtgeschwindigkeit bewegen und von Menschen nicht wahrnehmbar sind. Treffen die Wellen auf Objekte, verändert sich das Signal und wird zurück zum Sensor reflektiert – ähnlich wie bei einem Echo. Das an der Antenne ankommende Signal enthält Informationen über das detektierte Objekt. Im Anschluss wird das empfangene Signal aufbereitet, um mit Hilfe der erhobenen Daten das Objekt zu identifizieren und lokalisieren. In einem zweiten Schritt ist es möglich, einen Impuls auszugeben um eine Reaktion auszulösen.

1.3 Welche Eigenschaften hat die Technik?

Berührungslos: Die Radardetektion erfolgt aufgrund des Messprinzips völlig berührungslos, ohne direkten Kontakt zum detektierenden Material/Objekt. Selbst in weiter Entfernung misst & detektiert Radar zuverlässig.

Anonym: Für industrielle und Automotive Anwendungen sind nicht bildgebende Radarsensoren im Einsatz. Sie bilden lediglich eine Art Punktwolke, die einen groben Aufschluss auf Objektkonturen & die Infrastruktur des Umfelds gibt. Personen sind nicht, wie bei einer Kamera, identifizierbar.

Umfangreiche Daten: Radarsensoren erkennen Bewegungen & stationäre Objekte. Die durch die Reflexion empfangenen Daten liefern nach der Signalverarbeitung eine Reihe an Informationen über erfasste Objekte, Fahrzeuge, Tiere oder Personen. Dabei stehen Daten wie die Bewegungsrichtung, Geschwindigkeit, Entfernung & Winkellage im Verhältnis zum Sensor zu Verfügung.

Mehrdimensionale Detektion: Je nach Modulation erheben Radare umfangreiche Daten über ihre Umgebung. Auf diese Weise ist es möglich, dass über Sensoren auch eine dreidimensionale Umgebungserfassung wie mit dem menschlichen Auge möglich ist.

Große Reichweitenvariabilität: Radarwellen breiten sich frei im Raum oder in der Luft aus. Je nach technischer Entwicklung des Sensors & Nutzungszweck des Sensors können bei Bedarf extreme Reichweiten erzielt werden. Für kommerzielle Anwendungen variiert der Erfassungsbereich in der Regel von 1cm bis zu einige 100m.

Materialdurchdringung: Die elektromagnetischen Wellen der Radarsensoren durchdringen verschiedene Materialien. Insbesondere Kunststoffe eignen sich sehr gut als Abdeckung oder der Gestaltung eines Radoms, eine kuppelförmige Schutzhülle für die Antenne. Auf diese Weise sind die Sensoren unauffällig in ein Produktdesign integrierbar.

1.4 Welche Vorteile bietet Radartechnik?

Abgeleitet aus den Radareigenschaften bietet die Technologie einige Vorzüge für Ihre spätere Anwendung.

Denn Radar

  • ist wetterunabhängig
  • toleriert extreme Hitze- und Kälte
  • funktioniert trotz Überbelichtung und schlechten Lichtverhältnissen
  • arbeitet auch in der Dunkelheit
  • ist wartungsfrei
  • bietet große Funktionalität:
    z. B. Messung von Abstand & Geschwindigkeit, Tracking, Lokalisierung von Objekten, Ermittlung von ETA, Objektklassifikation, Personenzählung
  • ist für Indoor & Outdoor geeignet
  • ist für viele Anwendungen einsetzbar

InnoSenTs Radarprodukte bieten zudem ein kompaktes Design und eine leichte Integration.

1.5 Was unterscheidet Radar von anderen Sensortechnologien?
Die verschiedenen Messverfahren haben unterschiedliche Stärken und Schwächen. Je nach Anwendung gilt es abzuwägen, welche Sensortechnik den größten Mehrwert bietet und die jeweiligen Aufgaben und Herausforderungen löst. Eine grobe Übersicht bietet folgende Tabelle:
PERFORMANCE LEVEL
EIGENSCHAFTENRADARINFRAROTULTRASCHALLLASER
AnwendungsflexibilitätTOPSCHLECHTSCHLECHTSCHLECHT
Unempfindlich gegenüber Feuchtigkeit, Dreck & TemperaturTOPSCHLECHTSCHLECHTSCHLECHT
GeschwindigkeitsmessungTOPSCHLECHTGUTTOP
GenauigkeitsempfindlichkeitTOPSCHLECHTTOPTOP
Auflösung (Trennfähigkeit)TOPSCHLECHTTOPTOP
Ermittlung BewegungsrichtungTOPGUTGUTSCHLECHT
EntfernungsmessungTOPGUTSCHLECHTTOP
Durchstrahlen von MatierialenTOPSCHLECHTSCHLECHTSCHLECHT
ProduktgrößeTOPTOPTOPSCHLECHT
KostenGUTTOPTOPSCHLECHT

2. Parameter der Radartechnik

Radar ist nicht gleich Radar. Die Sensoren unterscheiden sich häufig in Funktionalität und Eigenschaften. Dies liegt daran, dass je nach Anwendung andere Konfigurationen nötig sind, um die gewünschte Messung durchzuführen. Die Unterschiede der verschiedenen Radartypen sind durch zwei grundlegende Parameter definiert: Das genutzte Frequenzband und die Modulation.

2.1 Frequenzband

Das Messverfahren Radar sendet und empfängt elektromagnetischen Wellen in einem bestimmten Frequenzbereich. Das Spektrum der Radarsensorik enthält aufgrund der unterschiedlichen physikalischen Eigenschaften verschiedene Abstufungen. Dabei sind bestimmte Frequenzabschnitte mit Buchstaben betitelt, um das Frequenzband zu benennen. Diese Bezeichnung ist unter anderem durch Institutionen wie die IEEE und der Nato definiert und international anerkannt.
Generell ist die technische Kommunikation mittels Radarwellen durch Landesbehörden und internationalen Zusammenschlüssen reguliert. Diese legen Leistungsgrenzwerte und die Zulassung der Frequenzbänder fest.
Das typische Spektrum für kommerzielle Radaranwendungen liegt zwischen 10 und 120 GHz. Je nach Anwendung nutzen Entwickler wegen der jeweiligen technischen Eigenschaften andere Betriebsbereiche. Denn die Wahl der Sende- und Empfangsfrequenz wirkt sich auch auf die erzielbare Performance und Eigenschaften des Radars aus.
Beispielsweise durchdringen 10 GHz Radare sogar Wände, während Sensoren im 60 GHz oder 77 GHz Bereich aufgrund der höheren erlaubten Bandbreite über ein höheres Auflösungsvermögen verfügen. Ein Vorteil von 24 GHz Sensoren, ist die weltweite Zulassungsfähigkeit.

2.2 Modulation

Häufig ist der Radartyp auch über die Angabe des genutzten Radarverfahrens definiert. Dabei wird das Radarsignal durch die gezielte Modulation der Sendefrequenz beeinflusst. Die gängigen Radartypen sind CW, FSK und FMCW.
  • CW steht für „continous wave“. Bei diesem Verfahren sendet und empfängt der Sensor das Signal gleichzeitig und kontinuierlich (feste Sendefrequenz). Dieser Typ ist auch als unmoduliertes Dauerstrichradar bekannt.
  • FSK bedeutet „Frequency Shift Keying“. Hierbei handelt es sich um eine Sondervariante des FMCW-Radars, das sprunghaft zwischen zwei Frequenzen wechselt.
  • FMCW ist die Abkürzung für „Frequency-Modulated Continous Wave“. Das frequenzmoduliertes Dauerstrichradar nutzt keine feste Sendefrequenz, sondern eine zeitlich abhängige Modulation der Frequenz (stetig, zyklisch und kurvenförmig), die auch als Chirp bezeichnet wird.
Wann benötige ich welchen Radartyp? Dies ist abhängig von dem zu detektierenden Objekt und der benötigten Objektinformation.

Eine grobe Übersicht für eine erste Vorauswahl gibt Ihnen die folgende Tabelle:

 

3. Möglichkeiten der Radartechnik

3.1 Messbare Radarinformationen und Auswertung

Mittels Radardetektion lässt sich die Präsenz oder die Bewegung von Objekten oder Lebewesen erfassen. Je nach Modulation und Antennenkonfiguration ist es möglich, folgende Informationen abzuleiten:
  • GESCHWINDIGKEIT 
    exakte Daten über die Geschwindigkeit eines Objektes
  • ENTFERNUNG 
    Daten zur Entfernung eines oder mehrerer Objekte
  • BEWEGUNGSRICHTUNG 
    Bewegungsrichtung eines Objektes
  • WINKEL 
    Bestimmung des Einfallswinkels und Auflösung über die Winkelauflösung
Mit Hilfe der analogen und digitalen Signalauswertung sind anhand dieser Basiswerte zudem weitere Informationen ableitbar. Beispielsweise lassen sich durch intelligente Algorithmen Radar-Cluster erstellen, die dann eine Bewegungshistorie darstellen. Zudem ist es möglich diese Objekte zu klassifizieren. Bei entsprechender Signalauswertung erkennt das Radar anhand der Rohdaten wie dem Radarquerschnitt (RCS), ob es sich um eine Person oder ein Fahrzeug handelt. Sind Referenzwerte vorhanden, lassen sich zudem Grenzwerte, Füllmengen oder Ankunftszeiten ermitteln.

3.2 Messgenauigkeit

Häufig kommt es hier in Verbindung mit der Radarauflösung zu Missverständnissen. Während die Auflösung das Trennungsvermögen eines Radars beschreibt, handelt es sich bei der Genauigkeit um den kleinsten messbaren Unterschied in der Messgröße. So sagt die Genauigkeit aus, wie präzise die Parameter wie Geschwindigkeit, Distanz oder Winkelablage gemessen werden. Dies erfolgt unter Berücksichtigung einer plus/minus Toleranz, die als Abweichungsrate angegeben wird.
Die Messgenauigkeit ist abhängig von der Betrachtungszeit, in der die Messung erfolgt. Je länger die Objektdetektion, desto mehr Messwerte empfängt das Radar. Stehen mehr Daten für die Auswertung zu Verfügung, umso aussagekräftiger und zuverlässiger ist diese.
Für die Praxis müssen Entwickler meist einen Kompromiss zwischen Detektionszeit und Genauigkeit treffen. Denn wenn möglichst schnell Informationen abrufbar sein sollen, muss die Messdauer verkürzt werden.

3.3 Antennendesign

Mit Hilfe des Antennendesigns definieren die Radarentwickler den Erfassungsbereich des Sensors. Durch die unterschiedliche Anordnung der Antenne richten sie die Strahlung der Radarwellen aus. Das Antennendiagramm zeigt, in welche Richtung die Antenne die meiste Energie ausstrahlt. Mit Hilfe von Richtantennen gestalten die Entwickler dessen Form und Reichweite, so dass möglichst viel Antennengewinn entsteht. Auf diese Weise wird die Energie auf den gewünschten Blickwinkel fokussiert und eine Energieverschwendung sowie Nebenkeulen reduziert.
Der Detektionsbereich kann schmal gebündelt und lang gezogen, aber auch breit gefächert sein. Das Design richtet sich dabei nach der späteren Anwendung. Ein neuartiges Verfahren ist dabei die fortschrittliche MIMO-Technik, die mehrere Sende- und Empfangsantennen miteinander kombiniert.

3.4 Radarwellen und Materialien

Radarwellen breiten sich in der Luft frei im Raum aus. Treffen sie auf ein Objekt, verändert sich das Signal aufgrund des Einflusses der Beschaffenheit des Objekts. Die Materialien wirken sich dabei unterschiedlich auf die Radarwellen aus. Sie werden ganz oder teilweise absorbiert oder reflektiert. Ebenso durchdringen die Radarstrahlen verschiedene Substanzen.
Für 24 GHz Radare lassen sich allgemein folgende Aussagen treffen:

 

MATERIALABSORPTIONREFLEXIONDURCHSTRAHLUNG
MetalKeineBei geradem Auftretten: Vollständig;
Bei schrägem Einfall: Brechung und Teilreflexion möglich
Praktisch unmöglich, nur Millimeterbruchteile dringen in die Oberfläche (Skin-Effekt)
Holz
(abhängig von der Feuchtigkeit)
Mittel bis StarkGeringGering
WasserSehr hochJe nach Einfallswinkel ist eine Teil oder Totalreflexion möglichKeine, aufgrund der Absorption
Schäume
(z.B. Styropor, Roofmate)
GeringGeringSehr gut
KunststoffeGering bis Hoch (abhängig von Dicke und Art des Materials)Gering bis Hoch (abhängig von Dicke und Art des Materials sowie Entfernung)Gering bis Hoch (abhängig von Dicke und Art des Materials sowie Entfernung)

3.5 Reichweite

Die Reichweiten von Radarprodukten sind sehr unterschiedlich. Im industriellen, kommerziellen und automotiven Sektor messen sie von wenigen Zentimetern bis mehrere hundert oder tausend Meter. Wie weit ein Radar messen kann, hängt von verschiedenen Faktoren ab.
Generell gilt, je weiter ein Objekt entfernt ist, desto schwieriger ist es zu detektieren. Auch Objekte mit geringem RCS (radar cross section, Radarquerschnitt) sind in der Ferne schlechter detektierbar. Denn das Signal muss einen langen Kommunikationsweg hin und zurücklegen. Hierbei entstehen Signalverluste, beispielsweise aufgrund der Umwelteinflüsse oder Störfaktoren. Je höher die Sende- und Empfangsleistung, desto besser ist das auszuwertende Signal nach einem langen Reflektionsweg.
Die Reichweite des Radars ist grundsätzlich durch das jeweilige gewählte Frequenzband begrenzt. Es bestimmt die verfügbare Wellenlänge sowie deren Frequenz. Auch die Sendeleistung ist durch Vorschriften limitiert. Die Empfangsleistung ist durch den Antennengewinn und das Antennendesign definiert. Mit der Gestaltung der Antennenrichtwirkung (z. B. die starke Bündelung) und der Aufintegration mehrerer Antennen erzielen Entwickler eine hohe Empfindlichkeit. Dies hat jedoch ein größeres Rauschen zu Folge, das mit weiterem technischem Aufwand zu unterdrücken ist.
Bei der Radarentwicklung muss für die jeweilige Anwendung ein optimales Verhältnis zwischen Reichweite, Erfassungsbereich und Auflösung erzielt und mit technischem Aufwand unerwünschte Nebeneffekte minimiert werden.

 

3.6 Objektklassifikation

Ein fortschrittliches Feature von Radarprodukten ist die Objektklassifikation. Hierfür müssen umfangreiche Informationen über ein Objekt zu Verfügung stehen. Dies ist durch eine hohe Auflösung erzielbar, da so mehr Messpunkte eines Objekts erfasst werden. Die Klassifizierung erfolgt dann über intelligente Algorithmen bei der Signalverarbeitung. Beispielsweise im Verkehrsbereich ist es möglich anhand der Fahrzeuglänge (Ausdehnung eines Objekts im Raum) das Objekt einer bestimmten Fahrzeugklasse zu zuordnen. Aber auch Messwerte wie der RCS, Geschwindigkeit oder Informationen über Bewegungsmuster tragen dazu bei, Objekte einem bestimmten Typ zuzuweisen. Eine Person hat beispielsweise einen anderen RCS-Wert als ein Fahrzeug. Mit Hilfe der vorhandenen Daten und entsprechender Programmierung können so Aussagen über die Objektzugehörigkeit zu beispielsweise den Klassen „Person, Fahrzeug, Tier oder Sonstiges“ getroffen werden.
3.7 Auflösungsvermögen
Die Radarauflösung ist die Fähigkeit von Radarsensoren und -systemen, Ziele voneinander zu trennen (Trennbarkeit). Die folgende Übersicht zeigt die verschiedenen Radarauflösungen.

1D-RADAR (CW)

Trennung von Objekten durch

  • Geschwindigkeit

Objekte mit der gleichen Geschwindigkeit können nicht getrennt werden (keine Lokalisierung möglich).

 

2D-RADAR (FSK)

Trennung von Objekten durch

  • GeschwindigkeitEntfernung

Objekte mit der gleichen Geschwindigkeit und Entfernung können nicht getrennt werden (Lokalisierung in einer 1-dimensionalen Umgebung möglich).

3D-RADAR (FMCW MIMO)

Trennung von Objekten durch

  • Geschwindigkeit
    EntfernungWinkel

Objekte mit der gleichen Geschwindigkeit, Entfernung & Winkel können getrennt werden (Lokalisierung in 2-dimensionalen Umgebung möglich).

4D-RADAR (FMCW MIMO)

Trennung von Objekten durch

  • Geschwindigkeit
    Entfernung
    Winkelauflösung (horizontal, vertikal)

Objekte mit der gleichen Geschwindigkeit, Entfernung & Winkel können getrennt werden (Lokalisierung in einer 3-dimensionalen Umgebung möglich).

CW (continuous wave)
Radare sind in vielen Anwendungen verbreitet, in denen die Detektion einer Bewegung eine Rolle spielt. Auch FSK (frequency-shift keying) Radare trennen Objekte nur über die Geschwindigkeit, bieten aber den zusätzlichen Vorteil der Abstandsmessung.

FMCW (frequency-modulated continuous wave)
Radare kommen zum Einsatz, wenn die alleinige Messung der Geschwindigkeit nicht ausreicht. Verfügt das Radargerät nur über 1 Sende- und Empfangskanal, ist die Messung der Entfernung zum Objekt möglich, nicht aber die Messung der Winkelablage.

3D-RADAR (FMCW MIMO)
MIMO-(Multiple Input – Multiple Output) Radare verfügen über mehrere Sende- und Empfangsantennen. Jedes gesendete Signal kann von einer beliebigen Antenne empfangen werden. Die spezielle Anordnung mehrerer Antenennen verbessert das räumliche Auflösungsvermögen und reduziert die Anfälligkeit für Störungen.

4D-RADAR (FMCW MIMO)
Ein 4D-Radar hat im Vergleich zum 3D-Radar zusätzlich mehrere versetzte Antennen in der Elevation und kann so Detektionen im Höhenwinkel trennen. Damit ist eine Lokalisierung im 3D-Raum möglich.

4. Aufbau eines Radars

Ein kompletter Radarsensor besteht neben dem Frontend (Mikrowellenkomponente mit Antennenstruktur), aus Einheiten der Signalaufbereitung und der Signalverarbeitung. Gegebenenfalls sind diese elementaren Bestandteile um ein Radom, ein Gehäuse, eine Linse und einen Bauteilträger ergänzt.
Das Frontend spielt durch das Antennendesign eine zentrale Rolle, da es den Sensor an sich darstellt und die Weichen für die spätere Funktionalität festlegt. Die Signalaufbereitung und Signalverarbeitung wertet die vom Frontend gelieferten Signale aus und interpretiert sie. Dies ist notwendig, um den einzelnen, rohen Radardetektionen für den Anwender einen nachvollziehbaren Sinn durch die Zuordnung von Messeinheiten und Referenzen zu geben. 
Das Radar Frontend sendet und empfängt die elektromagnetischen Mikrowellen. Diese daraus resultierenden Signale werden an die Signalverarbeitungskomponente weitergegeben. Um die Antenne und Elektronikkomponenten zu schützen, ist das Radar meist mit einem Gehäuse ausgestattet. Eine Abdeckung der Antenne bezeichnen Techniker als Radom. Diese dient nicht nur zum Schutz des Frontends, sondern auch zur Fixierung der Antenne. Manche Radarprodukte verfügen außerdem über eine spezielle Linse, die zur Bündelung des Radarstrahls dient. Ein weiterer Bestandteil des Radars ist die notwendige Schnittstelle, mit Hilfe der die Radarinformationen ausgegeben und an weitere technische Produkte weitergeleitet wird.
Das Radar Frontend sendet und empfängt die elektromagnetischen Mikrowellen. Diese daraus resultierenden Signale werden an die Signalverarbeitungskomponente weitergegeben. Um die Antenne und Elektronikkomponenten zu schützen, ist das Radar meist mit einem Gehäuse ausgestattet. Eine Abdeckung der Antenne bezeichnen Techniker als Radom. Diese dient nicht nur zum Schutz des Frontends, sondern auch zur Fixierung der Antenne. Manche Radarprodukte verfügen außerdem über eine spezielle Linse, die zur Bündelung des Radarstrahls dient. Ein weiterer Bestandteil des Radars ist die notwendige Schnittstelle, mit Hilfe der die Radarinformationen ausgegeben und an weitere technische Produkte weitergeleitet wird.

Produktauswahl

InnoSenT bietet eine breite Bandbreite von Radarprodukten – von einfachen Radardetektoren bis hin zum High-End-Radar. Die Produktlösungen unterscheiden sich im Umfang ihrer technischen Ausarbeitung, der Funktionalität sowie der Ausstattung.
Während ein Frontend der reinen Radarkomponente, also der Antenne entspricht, verfügen Sensoren und Systeme bereits über zusätzliche technische Weiterentwicklungen für die Signalaufbereitung und -verarbeitung, die die Nutzung der Technologie erleichtern.
Welches Produktlevel für Ihre Anwendung in Frage kommt, hängt stark von dem individuellen Technik-Know-How, den eigenen Entwicklungskapazitäten, den späteren Verwendungszweck und der Komplexität der Messaufgabe ab. Über unseren Produktfinder können Sie anhand verschiedener Parameter eine erste Vorauswahl treffen. Gerne beraten wir Sie ausführlich über die verschiedenen Optionen.

Kontaktieren Sie uns

Dr. Eva Maria Buchkremer
Head of Product Management

+49-9528-9518-1273

 

Was sind Ihre Herausforderungen?
Sprechen Sie mich gerne unverbindlich an. 

Ich habe die Datenschutzerklärung zur Kenntnis genommen. Ich stimme zu, dass meine Angaben und Daten zur Beantwortung meiner Anfrage elektronisch erhoben und gespeichert werden. Hinweis: Sie können Ihre Einwilligung jederzeit für die Zukunft per E-Mail an datenschutz@innosent.de widerrufen.